The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Archives - Frank Ancona Honda blog

December 7, 2015

The 2016 Honda Pilot is the Safest SUV on the Market


The 2016 Honda Pilot was released earlier this year and has already received numerous awards and reviews for its safe driving technology. The 2016 model features a few design changes and “Honda-Sensing,” which is a set of driver-aid technology advancements, making it the best SUV out on the market.

In a press release from Honda, Jeff Conrad, Honda division senior vice president and general manager said, “With the addition of advanced safety and driver-assistive technologies available through Honda Sensing, no other midsize mainstream SUV on the market today can match the Pilot’s top IIHS and NHTSA safety scores.”

This past August, the 2016 Pilot received a Top Safety Pick from the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety (IIHS). The IIHS is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to reducing the losses – deaths, injuries and property damage – from crashes on the nation’s roads. The Pilot aced IHHS’ collision test and earned a superior rating for its front crash prevention system.

Watch the 2016 Honda Pilot in its IIHS crash test video.

The 2016 Honda Pilot also recently received a maximum 5-Star Safety Rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in its New Car Assessment Program (NCAP). The NCAP created the 5-Star Safety Ratings Program to provide information about the crash protection and rollover safety of new vehicles beyond what is required by Federal law. The more stars in a rating means the safer the car. See the full rating here.

What’s new with the 2016 Honda Pilot?*

  • Multi-Angle Rearview Camera: Now you have a better view when backing out of tight spaces. The new camera has three different angles: normal, top-down and wide.
  • Forward Collision Warning: You will be immediately alerted if the Pilot senses you are at risk of a collision with a vehicle in front of you.
  • Lane Keeping Assist System: If you start drifting out of your lane without signaling, the steering automatically adjusts to keep you centered.
  • Honda LaneWatch: When you engage the right turn signal a small camera on the right-view mirror will display live video on the middle console display. You’ll be able to switch lanes more carefully.
  • Adaptive Cruise Control: This feature will help you maintain a constant following interval so you don’t have to brake and change speeds manually.
  • Collision Mitigation Braking System: It will help bring the Pilot to a stop when it senses an unavoidable collision with a vehicle in front of you.


All of the above features help make the 2016 Honda Pilot the safest SUV for your family. Stop in for a test drive today or call (855) 859-6511.

For a full list of all the new features click here.

*Some features are only available on certain models. See dealer for details.


June 18, 2014

National Tire Safety Awareness Month Tips

June is National Tire Safety Awareness Month and, along with Honda, we want to help protect your precious cargo. Now of course there are your basic rules of keeping your tires inflated because they benefit stability, prolong the life of your tires and maximize your fuel economy, but there is plenty more you can do to keep you safe in your beautiful Honda.


According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, better known as the NHTSA, there is a very detailed safety tip checklist you should follow that states:

  • Check tire pressure regularly (at least once a month), including the spare.

  • Inspect tires for uneven wear patterns on the tread, cracks, foreign objects, or other signs of wear or trauma. Remove bits of glass and other foreign objects wedged in the tread.

  • Make sure your tire valves have valve caps.

  • Check tire pressure before going on a long trip.

  • Do not overload your vehicle. Check the tire information placard or owner’s manual for the maximum recommended load for the vehicle.

  • If you are towing a trailer, remember that some of the weight of the loaded trailer is transferred to the towing vehicle.

So stay safe not just this month, but also all summer on the road by following these tips and this simple checklist and using common sense. Also dont forget to bring your vehicle into Frank Ancona Honda to get serviced! We are always running specials, so check out our website and get scheduled for some great service on your vehicle!

January 28, 2011

USA Today Announces: Honda Odyssey earns top five-star safety rating

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,  

No Comments on USA Today Announces: Honda Odyssey earns top five-star safety rating

Once again, Honda comes up on top when it comes to safety ratings.  The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has recently awarded the 2011 Honda Odyssey with a five star rating from their new crash-test rating system.

Honda Odyssey earns top five-star safety rating

The 2011 Honda Odyssey received an overall rating of five stars in the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s new crash-test rating system, the safety agency announced today.

The Odyssey’s overall composite score is composed of a five-star frontal, four-star rollover and a five-star rating for the combined side pole and barrier tests. The side barrier test is an area where other vehicles have shown weakness with the safety agency’s new testing format. The side pole test simulates a 20-mph side-impact crash into a 10-inch-diameter pole or tree at a 75-degree angle just behind the A-pillar on the driver’s side.

According to Honda, the four-star rollover rating is actually the highest rating a vehicle of this body type can achieve under NHTSA’s testing methodology:

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety recently announced the Odyssey received a top score of Good in all of its crash tests but hasn’t completed a roof-strength test that is required to earn the Top Safety Pick designation.

Out of the more than 50 models NHTSA has tested so far, only 11 have earned a five-star rating under the revamped system: Acura MDX, BMW 5 Series, Buick Enclave, Chevrolet Cruze, Chevrolet Silverado, Chevy Traverse, GMC Acadia, GMC Sierra, Honda Accord, Hyundai Sonata and Volvo XC60. NHTSA still has few more models left to test for 2011.